Decoder advice
Within a few months, I expect to begin converting to DCC. I have both HOn3 and HO locomotives. I am assuming I will have to get Z-scale decoders for the HOn3, and shove the decoder into the tender with a myriad of wires connecting to the locomotive. For my HO locomotives, I expect the same - decoders in the tender and the same myriad of wires.

Since I am new to DCC, can someone recoomend good, dependable decoders? My criteria: 1) I want to control speed direction and lighting only, I have 100% zero interest in sound. 2) I will have front and rear headlights only 3) My locomotives are all "old style" with the engine and locomotive each picking up current from opposite rails. I plan to make them so the tender trucks pick up from both rails, but adding extra wipers to the "insulated" side of the drivers could be tricky. I assume that means I will need 5 wires to run from the tender to locomotive - two for the motor, two for the headlight, and one to bring track current from the locomotive drivers back to the decoder. Am I correct here?

I need advice on what brand and model number decoders that will fit my criteria, and any installation tips. Thanks.
--
Kevin
Check out my Shapeways creations!
3-d printed items in HO/HOn3 and more!
<!-- m --><a class="postlink" href="https://www.shapeways.com/shops/kevin-s-model-train-detail-parts">https://www.shapeways.com/shops/kevin-s ... tail-parts</a><!-- m -->
I use Digitrax DZ125 Z Scale decoders for motor and light control. The small size of the decoder allows it to be tucked into a small space.
15 year veteran fire fighter
Collector of Apple //e's

Beatus homo qui invenit sapientiam
TCS has a model that is very basic - lights/direction/speed only. The big bonus is the no-fault installation. If you fry it, they replace it. But don't discount sound...! Wink