DN163K1B vs DN163K1C
Hi Guys,

I just picked up the new Kato SD70ACe and have a small problem/question. Some websites indicate the correct decoder to use is the K1B while others claim the K1C should be used. Does any knowledgeable DCC guru's know which would be better to use? They measure out to be identical (according to Digitrax) but even Digitrax doesn't specifically indicate which decoder is better for that engine. Any ideas?

Thanks Thumbsup
Mark

Citation Latitude Captain
--and--
Lt Colonel, USAF (Retired)
I'm just a DC operator, but stumbled across your question and was intrigued. Misngth According to the Digitrax website, the K1B is rated at 1.5 amps/2.0 amps peak, while the K1C is rated at 1 amp/1.25amps peak. I don't know enough about DCC to comment on whether or not there are any other differences, but it would seem to me that the K1B would be more robust in service.

This is where I got the info Digitrax Decoder Selection Guide, but you need to click on the "Instructions" for the ratings, which are not the same as the numbers shown in the Product Listings.

Wayne
Update.....

I tried installing the K1B and it didn't fit well. The rear portion of the decoder comes in contact with two plastic attachment points located near the top, inside, rear of the shell. Possibly like the suggested installation of this same decoder in an AC4400 that requires the exhaust vent attachment points filed down, maybe this decoder will still fit if I file some plastic off the exhaust vent attachment points that now interfere. I'm really hoping this will work since I have three more of these engines and the same decoders on order. Hopefully, I can figure out a solution and still keep my LHS order intact and on track for delivery.
Mark

--and--
Thanks Wayne for the info.