My "perfect" small operations layout
There havent been a lot of posts here in a while, so I thought I'd post my operations planning.

[Image: OR4AhWI.gif]

this is my layout that I've been running for several years, In just 30" x 54" (2.5 ft vs 4.5 ft). It has yard switching, a continuous running loop with two pathways, and industrial switching in that space without looking at all crowded!

the yard is the quintessential British puzzle: inglenook sidings. the 3 sidings each can hold 3, 3, and 5 40-foot cars. The yard lead holds 3 cars and a short engine (an 0-6-0, SW600/900/1200/1500, RS-1/RS-3, or similar sized switcher. inside the peanut shaped mainline, there are 4 industries, plus an additional industry outside the runaround track, and an interchange.

13 cars and one switcher engine handle this urban layout. The yard has 8 cars, plus one at each of the 5 industries. I generally suggest 2 Reefers, 3 Covered Hoppers, 4 Tankers, and 5 Boxcars, but any combination will do. All 5 industries are generic enough to take each kind of car (though admittedly a tanker at ACME might be Rocket Fuel, while at the Food Plant it might be Milk, and Gasoline at the town track, just as an example).

Operations proceed this way: of the 8 cars at the yard, 5 are chosen by rolling an 8-sided die, rerolling any repeats, in addition, a 6-sided die is rolled for location (rerolling 6s). with the consist to be in the order rolled - eg the first car chosen must be the first after the engine, then the 2nd car, etc.