Looking for help on casting small parts
I've been trying to replicate some hopper door latches and they're not turning out so well.

Here is what I'm trying to replicate.

[Image: IMG_5067_zpswemtdjck.jpg]

Here's how they've come out. I've painted them so I could see the detail or other imperfections.
[Image: IMG_5061_zpsqowellio.jpg]

If you look closely, you'll see air bubbles. Either molded on or small cavities. Some maybe usable but many are not.

I've been using this to make the mold.
[Image: IMG_5066_zpsntmv6sdy.jpg]

And using this to make the casting.
[Image: IMG_5064_zpsmhujhwqc.jpg]

Any thoughts or suggestions would be appreciated.

Thx,

Mark
I would go with a two part RTV ( Like they sell at Micro Mark ) to make your molds from. I have used it several times with very good results. As for your casting resin I can't say as I have no experience with that brand. Generally you want a thinner, as far as the viscosity goes, casting resin. A thinner resin will get into more of the fine details. You Tube has tons of videos on casting parts for pointers on technique.

Hope this helps.
 My other car is a locomotive, ARHS restoration crew  
I used the Micromark RTV before, but I use it so infrequently that usually on part of it goes bad. Do you use anything to help ensure shelf life? That's why I tried this Composi-mold stuff. You can use what ever you need and then just melt it down and store it. Wasn't that pricey either like the Micromark stuff. Not really sure I'm pleased with it though. Ill probably end up going back with the RTV stuff.

Mark
I've no experience whatsoever on casting small detail parts, but Steve's suggestion of a casting resin which flows more readily sounds reasonable to me.