Jumping to DCC and Need Help with Everything
When it comes to DCC I am a real novice and beginner. My layout currently runs on DC. However, I do have a Bachmann EZ Command system that I can hook up when I need to run something in DCC. I know it is a very basic system and has many limitations.

Now that I am in the process of redoing the layout, I am ready to make the jump into DCC with both feet and I am looking for recommendations on a good starter set or system. I would like to run multiple trains some of which may use two or more locomotives. I am still on the fence whether I like sound or not at this time. I am undecided about operating turnouts, signals, and such things at this time.

I am looking for any advice, tips, recommendations, etc.
Tom
Silence is golden but Duct tape is silver
Ridley Keystone & Mountain Railroad
My Rail Images Gallery
Hello Tom,

my recommendations for the beginning with DCC:

- Run your locos with DCC, make consists as you like.
- But run your layout in analog mode, meaning operate signals, turnouts and such stuff still as you are accustomed to do.
- Later, later means when you became firm with Digital, it is still possible to upgrade the opration of turnouts and signal to DCC afterwards.

- If your existing Bachmann EZ Command is able to read out decoders, it will be o.k.
- Otherwise purchase a reliable Digital Command Station whis is able to read out your decoders. This is one of the main factors if you have hassle with DCC or not. I recommend the Digtrax Zephyr, not too expensive, but a full-fledged command centerpiece. 
- For the real benefits of running your locos with DCC, you have to set the decoders to act as you like to run locos. There is a whole bunch of options and possibilities you can choose to make H0 locos running like real locos.